ASOCIO Profile

ASOCIO LOGO-01_min_3

The Asian-Oceanian Computing Industry Organization (ASOCIO) is an ICT Federation organized by ICT associations representing from 24 economies throughout Asia Pacific. ASOCIO was established in Tokyo, Japan in 1984 and it is the most time-honored and active international ICT trade organization in Asia and Oceania. Its influence covers more than 10,000 ICT companies and represents approximately US$ 350 billion of ICT revenue in the region. ASOCIO’s objective is to promote, encourage and foster relationships and trade between its members, and to develop the computing industry in the region.


Presently, ASOCIO comprises of 24 members from Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam. Today, ASOCIO’s members account for more than 10,000 ICT companies and represent approximately US$350 billion of ICT revenue in the region.


Under the ASOCIO umbrella, member economies are provided an opportunity to collaborate amongst the member economies for growth.


ASOCIO organizes the ASOCIO Summit, Plenary Meeting, and Multilateral Trade Visit in different member economies annually. The summit is known as one of the region’s high-powered ICT forums, providing platforms for government and industry to exchange information and develop a closer relationship and most importantly, identify new business opportunities.


Catalyst of Asia Pacific Digital Transformation and Enablement

  1. Create and facilitate frameworks and platform for cross-border trade
  2. Engage governments on the development of national digital agenda
  3. Assist member economies to establish globally competitive ICT industry
  4. Be the Voice of the ICT industry at international trade and technology fora
  5. Facilitate implementation of standards and governance
  6. Be the focal point on the state of the Digital Economy in the region.

To serve as the leading voice of the IT industry in the region and globally. ASOCIO’s major objectives are:


  1. To promote, encourage, foster, develop and coordinate the interests of members of the organization in the computing services industry.
  2. To encourage its members to formulate, maintain and establish a code of conduct including standards of services and performance, as guidelines for compliance by the computing services industry.
  3. To promote the interests of the industry through the print media, exhibitions, competitions and public for as may be advantageous to the computing services industry.
  4. To formulate and propose model legislative or other such measures for the advancement of the interest of the computing services industry’s and the community.
  5. To mutually promote, encourage, foster and develop computing services and other ancillary and allied industries.
  6. To promote opportunities for the interchange of opinions on matters affecting the computing services industry, including cooperation with other organizations on matters of common interest.
  7. To prepare, edit, print, issue, acquire and circulate trade journals, directories, books, papers, periodicals, gazettes, circulars and other publications which have a bearing on the computing services industry or on any other business considered by the General Assembly of the organization to be allied, and to form libraries and collections of literature, and compile statistics and other information relating to the computing services industry.
  8. To confer, consult, maintain, contact and cooperate with any association, society or institution having objectives in whole or part similar to those of the organization.

PAST Presidency / Chairman

Tenure President / Chairman Organisation
1984 – 1986 Late Ichiro Tanizawa JISA (Japan)
1987 – 1988 Kevin Morrisey ACS (Australia)
1989 – 1990 Y. T. Lee FKII (Korea)
1991 – 1992 Noel Hon SFCI (Singapore)
1993 – 1994 Richard Yin CISA (Taiwan)
1995 – 1996 Y. T. Lee FKII (Korea)
1997 – 1998 F. C. Kohli NASSCOM (India)
1999 – 2000 Neville Roach AIIA (Australia)
2001 – 2002 Harres Tan PIKOM (Malaysia)
2003 – 2004 Manoo Ordeedolchest ATCI (Thailand)
2005 – 2006 Wilson Tan SiTF (Singapore)
2007 – 2009 Ashank Desai NASSCOM (India)
2010 – 2012 Looi Kien Leong PIKOM (Malaysia)
2013 – 2014 Abdullah H. Kafi BCS (Bangladesh)
2015 – 2016 Bunrak Saraggananda ATCI (Thailand)
2017 – Present David Wong Nan Fay PIKOM (Malaysia)

Members Expansion

Year Country



1984 Japan JISA
Australia AIIA
Korea FKII
Taiwan CISA
New Zealand NZSA
1985 Singapore SiTF
1988 Malaysia PIKOM
1989 Thailand ATCI
1990 India NASSCOM
1993 Indonesia FTII
1994 Mongolia MIDAS/MONITA
1995 Bangladesh BCS
1996 Nepal CAN
1997 Sri Lanka FITIS
1998 Myanmar MCF
2000 Philippines BPAP
2001 Vietnam VINASA
2002 Hong Kong ISIA
2003 Pakistan PASHA
2005 Laos LICA
2008 Cambodia ICT-CAM
2010 Brunei IFB
Macao CCM